Torchwood

Dec. 11th, 2006 11:14 am
tencrush: (ianto coffee)
[personal profile] tencrush


Right, get it out of the way first of all: Ianto. Being a bit macho and manly. For some reason. Yes. OK. HAPPYINMYFAYCE. And then he disappeared. Woe. (Inkling number one: That whole him calling Jack "sir" all the time is a Big Ruse. If we were to ever discover the exact nature of their relationship, which we won't, because it ain't a porn flick, I think we would find it is the other way around. Mark my words.) ANYWAY.

Gwen's great isn't she? Everyone is in love with Gwen, and so they should be. Man, why do they always have to foist this shit on us? I just don't get it. I like Owen more than I like Gwen and that's saying something. Am I, yet again, not quite the target demographic here? Is it just that Rose thing all over again, where I'm not relating to her because I can't identify even though Rusty clearly thinks I should? Oh, and she was horrible to Eugene while he was alive. He should have just poked her with sticks from the afterlife. Get a spine, Eugene!

So, yes, this one was Love and Monsters. And I liked it on that level, just as I quite liked Love and Monsters, except it didn't quite work as well, because I don't think we've really established enough of an insider's PoV to start coming at Torchwood from the outsider's PoV, you know? Or, rather, what I mean is, they've been using Gwen as the outsider's PoV up until fairly recently, so it's not as if the tone shifted dramatically.

There were some cracking lines in it, mainly from the two guys who set him up. I actually laughed at bits. Don't, of course, remember what they were, but bits did make me laugh.

I dislike Jack more and more with each passing episode. This is not good. I don't think I'm meant to be doing that. Or am I?? Admittedly, a lot of this is down to the fact that I have an extreme dislike for Barrowman's toothy face. I lose at being objective.


I had something else important to say, but it has temporarily escaped my mind.

Date: 2006-12-11 11:11 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] pontisbright.livejournal.com
Xactly. There is no need to have an episode with a wide-eyed innocent observing the gang from inside, cos Gwen does that. Boringly. While her niceness is dictated to us at tedious length.

FFS, if you have to have Owen pointing out how heavy-handed her 'I am the heart' shtick is, you have a problem.

I will ignore that though and just go Mm, Ianto for a bit. Half-heartedly cos actually he mings a bit and is hardly ever in it. But still.

Date: 2006-12-11 12:34 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kateorman.livejournal.com
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHKKKHKHKHKHKH barf

Still, I liked Ianto's shirt.

Date: 2006-12-11 09:58 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kateorman.livejournal.com
Gwen is a robot. In the finale, she goes berserk and tries to kill them all. They end up using her head as a paperweight.

Date: 2006-12-13 03:18 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kateorman.livejournal.com
Have you seen GDL in Absolute Power? He's a bit pretty.

Date: 2006-12-13 06:38 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kateorman.livejournal.com
I've caught myself eyeing even younger men on busses. Gods help me, I'm turning inot Germaine Greer!

Profile

tencrush: (Default)
tencrush

November 2020

S M T W T F S
12 34567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930     

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 01:22 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios